Puzzle

Once again, this past week’s Circles meeting found a way to move me. I am a notorious worrier. I worry about everything, even when there should be nothing to worry about, I find something. There were three things that were said during this past week’s meeting that made me feel somewhat at peace.

The first two things said were by two of the Circle Leaders, both of them were strong, single mothers. The Circle Leaders were showing and explaining their mental models of their lives and with each one I felt more and more proud of the women in the room because in the little time I’ve known them, I’ve seen their growth. The first woman said between broken English and what seemed like choked tears, “My husband is not here and it is hard…” Hearing that made me think of all of the things I always complain about in my life but this woman is alone, not by her choice or her husband’s, having to care for five children. This was almost like a slap to the face, just thinking about how ungrateful I had been, my hard times were nothing. The second woman said that to her the most meaningful words somebody can say to her is, “I believe in you.” Such simple words but I understood why it meant so much to her. When you are feeling down on yourself and you think the whole world is working against you, it’s encouraging to know that at least one person truly believes that you fight it all.

The last one was the very woman who runs Circles. She told us a story about a mother, daughter, and a puzzle. The story was about a woman who was trying to put her world together without realizing that she needed to be put together first. She ends up putting herself together with the help of her daughter. The moral of the story was, “Once you put yourself together, the whole world will fall into place around you.” The worrier inside of me seemed to go away after hearing that story. I need to grow as a person and discover what I’m actually looking for in this world before I worry about it. These three women don’t realize it, but through their words and their struggles, they are teaching somebody else how to truly value life and what it has given me.

Ivy Torres ’18
Gettysburg

 

